The Australian spatial industry is at risk of missing key growth opportunities. To address this, SIBA|GITA and the FrontierSI (formerly the CRC for Spatial Information, CRCSI) are leading the development and implementation of the 2026 Spatial Industry Transformation and Growth Agenda, which aims to transform and realise the potential of the local spatial industry and see it recognised as an underpinning element of the Australian digital economy.

The 2026Agenda executive team comprises Phil Delaney (FrontierSI), Eva Rodriguez (FrontierSI) and Tonia Scholes (SIBA|GITA). A Leadership Group has formed to help oversee the coordination of activities. Membership of this group is expected to change over time to reflect the evolving nature of the 2026Agenda.

Current members of the Leadership Group are:

  • Peter Woodgate – Advisor, FrontierSI (Co-Chair Leadership Group)
  • Glenn Cockerton – Immediate Past Chair, Spatial Industries Business Association (SIBA|GITA), (Co-Chair Leadership Group)
  • Andrew Lalor – General Manager, Data Management and Analytics Taskforce, Economic and Analytical Services Division, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
  • Barry Sandison – CEO, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
  • Ian McLeod – Head of Smart Energy and Digital Asset Management for Enzen, Energy Committee Chair for the Queensland Futures Institute and former CEO, Ergon Energy
  • Michele Allan – Chair, Meat and Livestock Australia (MLA), Member of the Board for Innovation and Science Australia (ISA)
  • Peter Leihn – Director, Business Development and Commercialisation, Data61 (CSIRO)
  • Steve Jacoby – Executive Director Land and Spatial Information, Queensland Government
  • Stuart Minchin – Chief of Division Environmental Geoscience, Geoscience Australia
  • Stuart Phinn – Convenor, Australian Earth Observation Community Coordination Group and Director, Remote Sensing Research Centre, University of Queensland
  • Susan Harris – CEO, Intelligent Transport Systems Australia (ITS)
  • Tarun Weeramanthri – Chief Health Officer of Western Australia Government